Ash Wednesday

Over forty passages in the Bible associate ashes with mourning and grief. In Old Testament times people used ashes as a sign of repentance. They would sit in ashes, roll around in them, sprinkle them upon their heads, or even mingle them with their food and drink. They did this as an outward sign of their inward posture of repentance. Ash Wednesday begins Lent, a time when we stop and assess how we’re doing in our walk with God. Lent helps us identify spiritual areas in which we can grow and sinful areas that we need to avoid. To repent, put simply, means to turn away from sin and turn toward God. We use ashes as an outward expression of our need to begin again. Please click HERE for more information.

Although not a Holy Day of Obligation,  Ash Wednesday is one of the most well attended Masses in our Catholic Faith. Receive ashes at our Masses: 6:30 a.m., 8:30 a.m. and  7:00 p.m.

No Meat on Fridays

Jesus Christ, our Lord and our Savior, gave up His own body, His own flesh, that Friday so many years ago, for me and for you. He went through the pain of that self-sacrifice, completely mindful of God the Father. When we go through the incredibly minor act of abstaining from meat on Fridays, it is just one tiny act of self-sacrifice that points us back to that awful but Good Friday. That was the Friday when God loved us so much that He gave up His flesh in the most selfless act in history. Abstinence from meat is more than just “going without” during Lent or just a reminder that Christ offered His flesh for us on the cross. Abstinence is a form of prayer, a discipline.When we abstain from meat, we focus on Christ and on our souls, rather than on self and on our bodies. It is faith in action, placing our attention on Jesus and offering Him ‘our flesh’ as a sacrifice (Romans 12:1-2), a vessel through which He can and does work. (

Knight of Columbus Fish Fry (Fridays during Lent)...

No Greater Love

Do Something Special for Lent: Attend "No Greater Love"

Thousands sought Jesus during this life. Only a few followed him to Calvary? 

What will you do?

Filmed on location in the Holy Land, No Greater Love is a biblical pilgrimage that reveals Christ's amazing love for us. Best selling author Edward Sri guides you through the last hours of Christ's life. You will walk step-by-step with Jesus from the garden of Gethsemane to Mount Calvary. Every step of the way, Old Testament prophecies, messianic expectations, biblical symbolism, and historical context shed light on the mystery of Christ's suffering and death. Experience a deeper understanding and appreciation of God's immeasurable and unconditional love for you--- and grow closer to Jesus.


We are coming to that time of the year when we celebrate our most sacred events.  The Sacred Paschal Triduum is the three most solemn days of the liturgical year--Holy Thursday, Good Friday, and the Easter Vigil.  These most holy days celebrate the Paschal Mystery. First, the Last Supper where Jesus instituted the Eucharist and the Priesthood, then the passion, suffering, and death of the Lord Jesus, followed by His resurrection, the triumph of the crucifixion, and Christ’s victory over sin and death. There are a variety of ways for  you to participate in the Triduum this year.

  • Thursday, April 9th - Holy Thursday.  7:00PM Mass of the Lord’s Supper.

  • Friday, April 10th – 3:00 PM, Service of the Lord’s Passion;  7:00 PM Stations of the Cross.

  • Saturday, April 11th - 8:00 PM – The Easter Vigil Mass

Walk to Easter

An Experience of Holy Week for children - Children in preschool through fourth grade are invited to take a walk with Jesus. The walk traces the steps of Jesus during Holy Week, from Palm Sunday to Easter. The children will experience the mysteries of our faith, through storytelling, music, food and art. Parents/Guardians/Grandparents must accompany their children on “the Walk”, which will be held on Good Friday.

More information coming soon.

Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross are a 14-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ's last day on Earth as a man. The 14 devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, beginning with His condemnation. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ's last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are complete. (

Stations of the Cross every Friday during Lent 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Full Lenten Program Here

Beautiful Savior/SMA Choir - Unknown Artist
00:00 / 00:00

© 2018 St. Mary of the Assumption Church